Sharpening for Miter Box Saws…

Its been a hectic few weeks in the shop since I hung my shingle out to offer saw sharpening and restoration services. I am very happy to say the response has been strong and steady, and I’ve been thoroughly enjoying my extra time in the shop.

Strangely enough, I have been receiving a lot of miter box saws for sharpening. This is both encouraging–as it is wonderful to see this long neglected work horse of the wood shop return to a place of respect–and dismaying–because filing 350+ teeth that have been neglected since the Eisenhower administration is a tedious process. That said, I am going to establish a new rate for miter box saws….in stead of the regular rate of $35 for a basic sharpening, I’m now charging $50 to tune up one of these big boys.

And just so those of you who already have miter box saws already with me aren’t crying bait-and-switch, don’t worry….this new price goes into effect on any saws received by me AFTER TODAY.

Anyway, that’s about it for now….keep your saws coming. My turn around time is hovering around the 2 to 3 week mark right now and things seemed to have leveled off, so it should be right around there for a while.

And a brief thanks to all of those who have wished me well in the new business endeavor…I greatly appreciate it! 🙂

-Matt

Published in: on June 20, 2011 at 11:20 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thesawblog.wordpress.com/2011/06/20/sharpening-for-miter-box-saws/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hey Matt!

    I was kinda wondering about your price for a saw of that kind with 11PPI. I have filed a few of those guys. I found that charging per inch was a good way to go. I don’t blame you for upping your price. It’s either up the price or work for pennies. The cost for files and utilities also play into your out of pocket cost.

    What angles do you use for those saws? I use the same angles as I do on regular handsaws.

    Glad you are busy and things seem to be working out ok.

    Take care,
    Marv

  2. Thanks Marv…glad to hear you approve…;)

    I was thinking of originally charging per inch, but I like to have flat rates…it all comes out in the wash.

    For miter saws I usually go with 20 degrees of fleam and teeth raked 15 to 20 degrees…depending on the work.

    -Matt


Leave a Reply

