Check out these nuts…

Wiktor Kuc of www.wkfinetools.com (the finest old tool site on the web!!!!) requested some close up shots of the domed brass saw nuts on my recent Cresson saw rehab. Wiktor is one hell of a guy, and I’m always inclined to oblige him, so I disassembled the saw one more time and took a bunch of pictures for him. I figured I might as well share them with all while I was at it. I’m a nice guy. 🙂

So, here ya go!

Here they are all together…you can see the blank medallion nut, which is larger than the others. Before the advent of true stamped medallions, saw makers would include one, larger blank nut…don’t ask me why…

Here’s some shots of the larger nut….the underside is actually recessed, not solid…

A comparison in size to one of the smaller nuts….

That’s about it…thanks for looking at my nuts.

🙂

-Matt

Published in: on February 28, 2011 at 7:57 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thesawblog.wordpress.com/2011/02/28/check-out-these-nuts/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thanks pal,
    now I feel like I need to wash my hands…

    Best regards,
    Albert “Afghanus” Rasch
    The Rasch Outdoor Chronicles™
    Clean and Repair your 10/22 Magazine!

  2. I’d love to feature some of your posts on my show Spoken Wood Podcast. If you have a moment I’d love to talk. I have references LOL!

  3. Hi Matt. Can you forward me your email address. I some information you may find of interest regarding a 3 piece Disston medallion that was made using “the 1887 Glover patent that called for swaging the parts together”.

    Stewie Simpson.


Leave a Reply

