The Super Saw Bench finale….

So the Super Saw Bench is finally finished…..it was quite the project, but well worth it…I’m very pleased with the results.

I’ll walk you through the final construction details and then a couple money shots. 🙂

So if you read my last post ARecipeForBetterSawing then you got a peek at the supports that I cut for the leg assemblies. I realized as I was trestling up the bench, that I was going to have a hell of a time attaching the legs to the two top pieces, so I devised these side supports. The idea was, I could glue them to the cross members of the leg assemblies and drill through them to attach the top pieces with lag screws.

Take a look….you can see the side supports glued on. I used some yellow pine I had that fit the bill nicely…

This was my first time working with yellow pine…I pulled this sweet quarter sawn piece out of the trash somewhere. (Yes, I rescue wood from the trash. Doesn’t everyone?) 😉

After I glued on the side supports, I had to true up the two top pieces. I hadn’t touched these since cross cutting them way back when after I ripped the original 6 x 8 beam in half. Planing rough white oak is tough enough, but spotted with knots and reversing grain like these two beasts were, was no fun at all…

With the tops trued up I could lay up the legs and top and mark out the lag bolt holes. I went back and forth a lot about how to join these two together…I could have used massive oak dowels, ala timber framing, or cut dados into the cross members and just glued them. I voted down this last method because of concern for cross grain movement. In the end, I stayed true to my simple values and went with lag screws. Quick, tough, and easy.

Yes, I broke down here and used power tools…the only time in the whole project. Oh well….my arms and shoulders were killing from all that planing and I told myself it didn’t count as a power tool ’cause it doesn’t have a cord. 🙂

Anyway, the impact driver made quick work of the 6 inch lag screws…four in each leg assembly. And here she is….

As soon as she was done, I flipped her on her feet and grabbed the closest board at hand, slapped her on the top, and had at ‘er with my favorite crosscut #7.

All I can say is…..WOAH…she is STURDY!!!! Like a well bred Bavarian beer maid, this lil lady took all of my weight bearing down on her with nary a squeak!!! 😉

Say goodbye to my old saw bench (Sorry Chris!!!)…the Super Saw Bench is HERE!!!!

I’d say she weighs a good 125 to 150 lbs…hard to tell given the size. The bench is touch over 4 feet long and 12 inches wide. I left a space in between the two top beams to allow ripping down the center. The only thing left to do is bore the holes for the hold fasts…

Oh, and once I had the final assembly together, I did true up the top with my jointer plane. I started with diagonal strokes across the ripping trench, and finished up with the grain….just like truing up a bench top.

In an up-coming post, I’ll bore the holes for the hold fasts and show her in action.

Oh, and since this post was a little light on gratuitous saw action shots, I figured I share some pics of my latest saw rehab…I finally finished the handle on that Disston #12 from the  GramercyToolsSawHandleMakersRasp  post a little while back.

Here she is reunited with her other half….

I stained the patch with some red mahogany stain and finished with amber shellac rubbed out and waxed. I think the repair went well. I actually had to carve some wheat leaves in the bottom of the handle to blend the patch appropriately…that was a first! (Look Marv!!!)

Once I get her sharpened up, maybe I’ll break her in on my new saw bench. 🙂

-Matt

Published in: on January 27, 2011 at 10:09 pm  Comments (17)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thesawblog.wordpress.com/2011/01/27/the-super-saw-bench-finale/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

17 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I like it.
    It seems very massive.
    How much is it high?

    Best regards from Italy,
    Andrea

    • Andrea
      The bench is about 19 and 1/2 inches high…just a touch higher than my knee cap.
      -Matt

  2. It might be a stupid question, but how come you don’t have a big V notch in the front? I really like that feature on mine.

    I never thought about using hold downs on a saw bench. What a good idea! I would like to have something like that on my saw bench.

    be well,

    yaakov….

    • Not a stupid question at all Yaakov….I am still torn on whether or not to make a ripping notch on this bench. I probably will but want to see if I miss it or not first.
      -Matt

  3. Hey Matt!

    Love the bench….big and stout. You’ll probably want to find a spot for it and just leave it there. *smirk*

    I really like the idea of hold downs. I’m getting by with just clamps on my John Deere saw bench.

    I’m guessing that your bench is too heavy to wobble?

    And that saw restore….very very nice! Great job on the repair. I like the finish you used also. Daryl will just love the shiny nuts. You should post some pictures on Woodnet.

    Take care,
    Marv

    • Thanks Marv. Yup…its very sturdy….not a wobble at all.

      Glad you like the #12….I figued it was a good opportunity to finally try my hand at wheat leaves.

      And Daryl likes shiney nuts, huh? 😉

      -Matt

  4. Hey Matt –

    Very interesting & informative blog – nice super saw bench! Thanks for all the tips.

    I just picked up my first find today, what I thought was a Disston (very rusty) based on the medallion, with a lamb’s tongue, for $7. Turns out after I started cleaning the blade (per your method) the etching showed a sweet Richardson Bros logo, made for a Vermont company. The Disston medallion & another brass screw were replacements, with very poorly drilled holes in the blade. Under the handle was stamped “8H”; the blade to me seems cross-cut, with 10ppi. length is 24 in, toe is 1 inch, heel is 5 inches. The weird thing is that the blade has a large curve or camber along the teeth…any idea why?? I can provide photos. Thanks for your help and a great blog.

    Greg
    Hanover, NH

    • Hi Greg

      Thanks for the comment and question…

      That curve is called breasting…it helps keep your saw teeth cutting efficiently given the natural arc of a sawyer’s stroke.

      -Matt

  5. Now THAT bench has some serious gonads. Well done, Matt!

  6. Matt,

    Been a visitor to your blog repeatedly! That bench is awesome and definately in the works for my future shop. I’m highlighting you this Saturday (12 Feb) on my Blog Rodeo at The Rasch Outdoor Chronicles™ my outdoor adventure blog. I love woodworking, and to me it’s close enough to outdoor pursuits to be included!

    Best Regards,
    Albert “Afghanus” Rasch
    Albert Rasch in Afghanistan: She had Beautiful Green Eyes…

  7. Beautiful bench!

    Funny you mentioned reclaiming wood from the trash. I saw some wood a neighbor was throwing out and thought “what a waste, that wood can be put to good use.” By the time I got around to actually fetching it, it had been hauled away. I was a little sad it was gone.

    Who else thinks this way? I can’t be the only one.

    • Aaaahhhhh…a man after my own heart!

      But you need to learn Rule #1 in trash picking: Never hesitate to dive in!!!

      😉
      -Matt

    • It’s more of us, no worries 😉 I|m from Prag, CZ, now in Birmingham, UK and I do the same.. Whatewer is usable, I recycle!

      And really COOL bench, Matt, I’ll have to make my own soon!!

      Frank, Brum

  8. […] is a great chance to show off my new SuperSawBench that I finished a few weeks ago. I’ve been doing a lot of cross cutting on my new bench, but […]

  9. […] is a great chance to show off my new SuperSawBench that I finished a few weeks ago. I’ve been doing a lot of cross cutting on my new bench, but […]

  10. […] for saws over the past two months and I’m just catching up now, plus I finally finished the SuperSawBench, and have tried to squeeze in some sharpenings for my own saws, plus the normal rigamaroll that […]


Leave a Reply

